My final week in Kelowna

Well the month of February went by in a flash, holy smokes. I’m done my time with the Rockets and I go back to school tomorrow, which I’m actually pretty stoked about. It’ll be nice to see everyone again, especially some people who I haven’t seen in a long time (*cough, cough Jacob*) but let me tell you about my final week.

This week was busy and quite interesting in some ways to be honest. We started the week off having to cancel the rest of our school visits due to the recent outbreak of the mumps. It sort of sucks because I looked forward to those visits and seeing all the smiles on the kids faces asking questions during the reading or going up against their favourite Rocket during the floor hockey game. All the schools made it such a huge event and would pack their gym during lunch time to see it. It was pretty incredible.

Tuesday I did another alumni Q&A with Kelly Guard. This one was especially cool for me due to the fact that Guard is known as one of the top Rockets of all time. He only played two seasons, but he won both a WHL Championship as well as a Memorial Cup where he was named MVP of the tournament. He also set a couple league records that may never be broken. I also did my usual game previews, which I have come to love. My parents also came up on Tuesday so it was really nice to see them after a month!

Wednesday was my final home game with the team, so I tried to soak in all of my regular routine of doing the media packs and game programs ready. Mom and dad came to the rink and I was able to introduce them to everyone as well as give them a tour of the rink and press box, which was cool. They also came to the game too! Was a cool all around experience for them to see what I do over the course of a game day. The Rockets won 5-1 over Prince George, and they’re on quite the roll lately. They’re record since I arrived was 13-2-1. I’d like to think I was sort of a good luck charm!

Thursday and Friday were prepping for my final game day with the Rockets. I did my last game preview and I did a story on Kaedan Korczak who was the Rockets 1st round selection in last years bantam draft, just a review on how his season/playoffs are going with his midget AAA Yorkton team.

Honestly, the experience went as well as I could of expected it. Everyone top to bottom of the organization welcomed me in with open arms and really took care of me like I was apart of the team. Special thanks goes out to the Hamilton family, Deaner and my boss Kevin. I’m honestly really going to miss you guys! Good luck in the playoffs and go get yourselves another ring.

Excited to get the ball rolling on my final few months at SAIT though. Feels real weird that I graduate here pretty soon, but as the saying goes, time really does fly when you’re having fun and you love what you do. Thanks to everyone who has followed along and I hoped you enjoyed reading my blog and my stories as much as I enjoyed writing them!

mom-and-dad

Leave a comment